Fat Politics: Part 2

Fat Politics

In my last post I started discussing about fat politics and how fat activists are now trying to show that being fat in society is okay and pushing for body acceptance.

I came across this topic while taking a third year feminist geography course this year, and it is a very interesting topic to me.

To listen to fat activists talk about society’s problem with fatness, and about challenging the idea of fatness, there is a very good podcast about it on Rabble.ca called “Fat Politics 101.” The podcast aired in 2014 on the radio show called “The F-Word,” and in it fat activist Kalamity Hildebrandt talks about the problem of how fat people and fatness in general are perceived in society and discuss why being fat does not mean a person is necessarily unhealthy. You can listen to it here: http://rabble.ca/podcasts/shows/f-word/2014/12/fat-politics-part-1-fat-politics-101-and-health

Note: This is only the first part of the podcast. There is a second part on the website linked if you are interested in hearing more. 🙂

In my next posts, I will discuss the issue of fat vs. health, which was talked about in the podcast.

Leave a comment